How economics works

Last month was very slow for work. Other people I’ve spoken to have said the same thing so I do not get the impression it is me. I have had the time to patch a pair of jeans and repair the collar of my winter coat. The material that makes up the collar of my winter coat had worn out badly and the stuffing inside was coming out all the time. It got so bad that I had ben asked if I was going to get a new coat. Certainly not just for a bit of worn out material at the collar. This last week I repaired the collar with some hounds-tooth check material we had spare. You can see in the picture there is no stuffing sticking out and I think it’s quite a good repair. My needlework even received positive praise.

The jeans, as you can see in the photo, had got thin at the point where the bottom of the pocket rubbed against the jeans. I had not come across this before. The same thing had happened on both sides though. On one side there were also areas of wear further down on the left hand side so it needed a big patch, as you can see on the third photo. Whereas on the right hand side a short one was enough. (Last photo)

So, that’s about my sowing, what’s that got to do with the title of this piece, how economics works? When I have worked and have less time to sow myself I take my sowing to a personat Faubourg National who always does a good job for me and is not expensive. If I have earned €10 then I pay that money to the person who does the sowing. They have to pay some money for materials and then pay the rest to themselves. Some money goes to the people who make the materials and the rest to what the person who does the sowing spends their money upon. Thus €10 paid to me, is paid to the person who does the sewing, is paid to the materials & what they spend their money upon, thus the €10 I earn once is spent three times increasing the economic activity. This is called the multiplier effect. It is the recognition that adding extra money into the economy, the €10 I earned, results in further expenditure and growth in employment and expenditure upon materials etc.

My doing my sewing has had a dampening effect upon the economy and has not helped us out of our crisis.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “How economics works”

  1. Jonny Says:

    But.
    1. You bought the needle and thread with money you earned.
    2. By mending like this you contributed to a sustainable system of economics whereby extra resources are not squandered in order to feed bogus measures like “economic activity” and thus send succour to the capitalists.
    Well done on the sewing, by the way.

  2. the Flashing Blade Says:

    Like all capitalists when a downturn strikes I ran down existing stocks rather than investing in the economy to keep people productively employed. I hope next time I go past the seamster the shop is not closed with him out of work!

    Glad you liked the sewing.

  3. Buttons of Brixton! | The Flashing Blade Says:

    […] as, by the time I was studying everyone did these and everyone did metalwork. I have previously written about my sewing […]

  4. http://relationshipmanifesto.webs.com/about Says:

    hello!,I love your writing very a lot! proportion we communicate more approximately your article on AOL?
    I require an expert on this area to solve my problem.
    May be that is you! Having a look ahead to look you.

Leave a Reply

