A Tramcar Named Sooo British

I last wrote about the Sooo British festival that had been launched to coincide with the British Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe on Friday. Yesterday morning I got onto the E tram line and went to the penultimate stop, Droits de l’homme, Human Rights. I am pleased and think it’s quite cool that there is a tram stop called Human Rights. It has the name of course because it is the stop for the European Court of Human Rights and is situated right out side the front of the building, designed by the renowned British architect, Lord Richard Rogers.

I joined a number of other British residents of Strasbourg, a lot of whom work for the Court. Also present was the Deputy Mayor of Strasbourg responsible for European and International Relations, Nawel Rafik-Elmrini, Keith Whitmore, President of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe, and Eleanor Fuller, Permanent Representative of the United Kingdom to the Council of Europe. Each of the dignitaries made a little speech before removing the sheet covering a poster which will commemorate the Sooo British half-year at the Droits de l’homme tram stop. Just after that a tram arrived also decorated with the logo of the campaign, the British flag over the shape of the Strasbourg Cathedrale. There was just time for the three dignitaries to have their picture taken in the tram doorway before it sped off.

Then came the best bit as far as I was concerned. I was stood talking with the partner of my fellow Manchester City watching fan when a journalist from the regional TV approached and enquired about whether I was English. On hearing that I was she asked me some questions about the event and I replied in English and French. I was only sorry they cut out the advert for our play, ‘Oh What A Lovely War‘ which forms part of the Sooo British programme. Here it is, the piece on the trams starts at 2 minutes 6 seconds into the news. Listen to the first story though as it’s about Strasbourg as a city for the pedestrian, see me, enjoy:

index-fr.php?id-video=cafe_HD_1850_strasbourg_locale_230112_14_23012012194906_F3

One Response to “A Tramcar Named Sooo British”

  1. Eleanor Fuller Presents Sooo British « The Flashing Blade Says:

    […] part of the Strasbourg So British promotion, which I previously wrote about here and here, this evening I am going to see the film “Mrs Henderson Presents” at the Odysée cinema […]

Leave a Reply

