New mosque completed

Eighteen months ago I posted about the Grand Mosquée de Heyritz had remained unbuilt from the time I arrived in Strasbourg in September 2007 and looked like work had not taken place there for some time. Then in May 2009 work started again. During a bike ride I posted a photo showing progress with the building here.

Last week was the end of Ramadan and on Friday cycling back from work I again passed the mosque and noticed that it looked completed. The car park was starting to fill up and the there were one or two stalls. I remembered the celebrations at the Friday at the end of Ramadan 2011 had been the target date for the celebrations for the opening of the mosque. I was a bit early for Friday prayers and unfortunately was not able to hang around for the opening. But on Sunday there is an interfaith walk I am planning to take part in starting at the synagogue (pictured here) and finishing at the mosque so I may have pictures of it then.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

