Is it a bird, is it a plane?

I’m taking a bit of a rest from fist-up at the moment so I thought I would write a few things about the local neighbourhood. There seems to be a new resident across the street and when he moved in work was done to the balcony. Then in the Spring some plant pots arrived. It was touch and go a couple of strong storms and the resident was out on the balcony making sure the pots didn’t go. There wasn’t much really to look at when I went away for work at the end of June. But just look at it now what a wonderful riot of living colour.(TM JTO) You can see what he was doing when he protected the plants from the storm.

I couldn’t write about the wonderousness of the plants opposite without also talking about the ones on our own balcony. The first one you see is the one on the left of our balcony. When I went away it contained two or three onions. Unfortunately they came to nothing which you cannot say about this picture. The second picture is of the flowers in the middle. There are   blue and red flowers in it. The last picture is facing the first picture across the street so it need to put on the best show, which I think it does. The street could be quite grey and drab but with these all along the street it quite lifts the heart.

I was going to write a piece about the wonders of the displays on balconies on the street and on our own balcony. Then yesterday I went out onto the balcony to take in some of the sun and have a watch of things going on up and down the street. I had hardly got out there when something happened which had me rocking back towards the flat and starting to take a defensive position. What was it? Was it a bird? Was it a plane? Look at this clip and you’ll find out:

No, as you can see, it’s a crane. It didn’t help keep up the suspense much that the person who loaded the video up to YouTube titled it the Crane, bit of a give-away that! I walked through the arch of a building opposite to us and a bit further down the street from the one with the display and saw a massive building site I knew nothing of. If you’re talking developments since the end of June well that’s one. I didn’t have my camera with me so you’ll have to wait till another day for pictures. I hope you can.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

