To have a look of hell

Another in my occasional series about the use of language following the first about the mistranslation of stuck-up cow. This time it is from a poster in a window of a shop in the centre of Strasbourg, between Place Homme De Fer and Place Kleber, being refitted. Or, as the sign says “Your shop is closed for a relooking”. My dictionary defines look as look, and goes on to define ‘avoir un look d’enfer’ as to look great or wicked. So the shop is getting a new look so much nicer than being refitted.

In previous jobs I worked in offices and sometimes had to meet members of the public or attend public meetings. So it was required to wear a suit and tie. I have around 40 ties but until now I never had anywhere to keep them. So they ended up with about half of them on a tie holder that came when I bought one of them and the rest on a hanger in the wardrobe. It was not good for the ties and took up more room in the wardrobe than needed.  After looking at a number of websites I decided I needed a tie rack to tidy them up. I decided the bes place to put it would be on the door of the wardrobe. There were some good ones on the Amazon website but it would cost almost the same in postage to get them to France as it would to buy them and make them very expensive. I found one on a website in France after googling the google translation of tie rack in French, support à cravates. I also tried to find one in Germany but all it came up with was the shop tie rack and website with contacts for manufacturers in China if you wanted to order loads of them. I was worried the with the Rapture last weekend being the that I would miss out on the delivery of the tie rack and leave my ties in a mess so it was a bonus that it is now put-off to October. Well it arrived this week but it was too big for the door of the wardrobe! Oh no what to do? I managed to fit it under the rail that shirts and suits hang on and 32 of my ties now hang up nicely in order.

Mr Mojo Risin reprise

In this post I wrote about converting my vinyl to MP3 tracks. Having worked my way through some, but less than half, my UK 80’s and 90’s vinyl I discover I have already converted more than 40 albums. This means my original estimate of 100 to do is way low and, considering I have more in the 70’s and 60’s and earlier racks there must be over 300 to convert. I’m now prepared to consider that it might be the end of the year before I am able to complete the task, especially as I will be working in the UK in July and August and plan to be in Australia in Novevember. The good news today was that I awoke to be told by JTO to look at my emails. On doing so I saw that she had ordered an iPod Touch from the online store of FNAC. I was immediately jealous but this changed upon being told it was a present for me to listen to all the tracks I had been converting. How cool is that? Perhaps the way to a man’s heart is through his ears?

Anyway the music to end this piece could only be one track, one from among the many I have converted:

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “To have a look of hell”

  1. kleines wohnzimmer einrichten ikea Says:

    Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after checking through some
    of the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely delighted I found
    it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back frequently!

Leave a Reply

