Banksy or not II and an interesting local outdoor artist.

Three days ago I wrote a piece about some street art that had appeared near where I live in Strasbourg featuring the picture on the left.  After posting the piece on Twitter and Facebook the consensus amongst the replies was that the work was not by Banksy, which was pretty much what I thought too.

Afterwards two things happened.  The first was that I was followed on twitter by Banksy Graffiti, no doubt after my tweet and post appeared via a Google or similar alert. The second contact came from ‘Mes pensées étranges‘ in the comments of the piece via Expat Blog where she said,

“Hello! Found your blog on the expat website. I’ve recently noticed more art like this too. It’s hard to say if it’s Banksy, but I think it’s more like someone who’s been influenced by Banksy’s works. Have you been around la Petit France recently? There is a great one there near les Ponts Couverts of a black and white girl who looks to be coloring what appears to be a spray paint tag. I have a picture of it here if you’re interested: http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10150130558119679&set=a.10150113985839679.289716.533054678&theater

The site mentioned is just about ten minutes from where I live so yesterday evening I decided to wander around the area and see if I could find the piece linked to and/or anything else.

The first thing I found was the above and left piece on the base of post carrying the power to the work being carried out on the Vauban Dam.  It doesn’t look to me like a piece by Banksy at all and that’s before you look closer and see it is signed ‘Dan 23’.  Bearing in mind it is upon the transportable base of a post it needn’t even have been painted here but could have been done elsewhere and just ended up here with this work, although the site for Dan 23 does have it pictured in this spot.

Further walking around took me to the Pont de la Spitzmühle and turning looking through an arch  to Quai de la Petite France and Square L Weiss I saw the piece I was looking for.

So what do you think, Banksy or a very good copyist? Here are photos of some of Banksy’s other outdoors work for comparison. Stay tuned for another Banksy related post tomorrow

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Banksy or not II and an interesting local outdoor artist.”

  1. analuisavidigal Says:

    well, isn’t it technically tagged WASP?

    • the Flashing Blade Says:

      I’ve googled your comment and I’m afraid I do not understand it. What’s your point?

Leave a Reply

