En garde

About five years ago I started the predecessor to this blog and chose the title to reflect that part of the subject matter would be about me taking up fencing and my exploits in the world of fencing.  I did take it up for a couple of years with a break when there was work being carried out to the leisure centre where we met.  Then I moved here and there’s been a number of difficulties which have resulted in my three years in France being fencing free.  That is about to change and its all because of the Foire Européenne….

This event happens every year in Strasbourg, this is supposed to be the 78th, and I wrote about it last year here.  Again this year we got tickets to get into the Foire from our local MP and again I start with a picture of the entrance from the nearest tram stop although this time it doesn’t give much indication of the sheer number of people present which was a lot for the middle of the afternoon on a Sunday.  Each year one country is showcased and this year it was Thailand so there were merchants selling things from Thailand, holidays to Thailand etc as well as there being a restaurant selling Thai food.  Having arrived after midday both JTO and I were hungry so we headed over to the Thai restaurant for some Sunday lunch.  The picture on the right was taken after we’d eaten but there were very few free chairs when we arrived.  The food was good and served with a more than acceptable Thai Rose wine but what surprised  the most was being served by Alsacian waiting staff, obviously people used by the exhibition centre when they had something on, rather than the Thai or South East Asian staff I am used to in the restaurants locally and elsewhere when I’ve eaten Thai food.

The whole of a massive exhibition site is taken up showing off things like farm implements, furniture, household heating systems, solar energy systems, TVs and other home appliances, swimming pools, garden furniture, local food and wine, household implements and tools. Basically anything at all.  The next picture shows the outside of the section where the local council, power company, newspaper etc all had stands, the garden sheds for sale in the front and swimming pools on the left.  Behind you can see the European Parliament building.

Inside the Rhenus Sport hall normally home to the Strasbourg basketball team, SIG,  were lots of sports activities.  My heart leapt when I saw that Strasbourg Escrime were present with a display and opportunity to take part.  I talked with them and discovered they were running ‘taster’ sessions on Mondays throughout the month so I took details of where they were from the club coach, pictured on the right.  This predecessor to this blog started when I started fencing and its name, after a children’s TV programme shown in the Summer holidays when I was a child, came from it.(See video at the top on the right)  It is exciting to be thinking about starting back with the fencing, so much so that I felt I just had to close with the following:

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

