A tale of two matches

My parents have been visiting since Tuesday so there has been time only for work and showing them Strasbourg and Alsace.  On Friday night, for the first  time since I was a boy and he took me to football matches, the roles were reversed and I took my father to the Stade de la Meinau to see le Racing play Vannes at home.  As a result we were not standing in my usual place but right back behind the goal in the top row of the seats, so we had a great view of proceedings.

16102009014

Inside ten minutes le Racing were 1-0 up and a couple of minutes later a Vannes forward was brought down by the keeper when through.  Red card for the keeper and I thought a penalty but the foul had happened outside the box so just a free-kick which was defended.  The ten men of le Racing didn’t just hold out for the rest of the game but had a few chances to make the game safe.  Vannes, like Reading FC this season according to my father who is a season ticket holder, for their part played pretty football but had no idea in the last third of the pitch, they seemed to lose it in front of goal.  So a first win this season for le Racing and they move off the bottom of ligue 2 for the first time this season.

Then after taking my parents to the airport this afternoon and dropping off the hired car I went to a local Irish bar to see City play Wigan in today’s late Premiership match.  Having seen City play Man U, Aston Villa and now Wigan in the same bar I have yet to see them win a match, perhaps I’ll stop watching them and they’ll win?  Anyway we should have had a penalty and  a player received a dodgy yellow card which meant later, when the card was deserved, he then had to be sent off.  I wonder how much dodgy refereeing decisions like today’s the endless extra time against Man U etc. will have cost us by the end of the season?  Taking the positives we have recently played Aston Villa and Wigan at their place and have come away with a point from each, Chelsea lost to both.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

