A fair days pay for a fair days work

Living in France where there is a strong interest and organised support of people’s quality of life it is a surprise that anyone should think it sensible to get rid of the minimum wage in the UK. I remember tales of woe from the Tories, before there was one, that would befall the country if one was introduced. It didn’t happen, employment increased. There were the same tales of woe from London and South East-centric leftists that the level had been set too low to do any good. In such areas where there was virtually full employment the level has become what people working in care homes and bars get paid, but, from family in Cornwall and the north, I know there are people whose wage doubled on the introduction of the minimum wage. Of course there are all sorts of other things that happened with people having hours cut etc but generally people found they needed the number of hours worked in order to get the work done and in care homes the bill went into higher charges to local government. I’m sure there are a number of researches going on now to the impact of the introduction of the minimum wage. Actually I’m not sure there are that many. As an achievement of the Labour Government it has been pocketed for there to be too much interest amongst the city intellectuals about it, so not too much research into it then.

The purpose for this discourse about the minimum wage? Tomorrow Tory, Christopher Chope is seeking a Second Reading for a Bill to effectively get rid of the Minimum Wage. There is a campaign against it here. Get onto your MP, go to the meeting, do what you can to campaign against it. I had always thought that when the Tories got in next time they would follow the Republican strategy and just not increase the minimum wage with the increase in wages to let it whither away and become worthless. This shows that they could consider trying to remove it, they have to get the message they cannot.

Seen some thing great that you will not.
When I was a councillor I enjoyed my time on the Licensing committee amongst the most. Someone I learnt a lot from was a fellow Labour Councillor, Wilf Wild. He had beenon the Council in the 60’s when there was a ‘watch committee’ who got to see the films and decide which could be displayed. Wilf said the members of it would come back from the meetings and say “We’ve seen some films that you won’t.” Watching the semi-final of Eurovision whilst posting this there has been some wonderfully bizarre things I’ve seen which, if you weren’t watching, you won’t see. It’s a shame that most of them will not make the final on Saturday as the quality this year has been amongst the highest I’ve known for a long time, Roll on Saturday. I’m just sorry that whereas last year I spent the evening with people from all the countries involved in a true international evening I won’t be this year.

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “A fair days pay for a fair days work”

  1. Fool Says:

    I can’t vote, but what is this about getting rid of minimum wage? Just recently, I know they voted against allowing tips to count towards minimum wage. In the US, there were small businesses against minimum wage because they felt they could not afford to hire staff. They were also against providing them with health insurance – as you know, there is no NHS there.

  2. theflashingblade Says:

    In the UK Parliament today a Tory MP tried to introduce a law to remove the UK minimum wage. I think this would be a bad thing to do and suggested people follow the link and help the campaign to defeat the Tory in his attempt to get rid of the minimum wage. You do not have to be able to vote to get onto an MP, in fact from my own experience most people who do get onto an MP are not able to vote. I’ll post an update tomorrow about what happened.

  3. Heather Wild Says:

    Hi, I know this is a very old post but I just did a search for my grandad Wilf Wild and this came up. Lovely to see, thanks πŸ™‚

  4. the Flashing Blade Says:

    Heather. Thank you for posting. Your grandad was a man I admired and looked up to. For many people in Reading Labour he was a touchstone and when thinking about what to do on something you always wanted to know what Wilf thought. He also was a good storyteller about things that had happened in Reading and had a store of wonderful stories that he would tell with delight and a twinkle in his eye. Reading lost something when it lost him. One particular thing I remember was when talking about issues from the past he often used the phrase since the days of the old king. Often when travelling around the UK, for example in Bath, my wife and I will come upon Old King Street and we’ll take our picture beneath the sign and reminisce about Wilf.

  5. Heather Wild Says:

    Thank you for your kind words about him, although I remember him very clearly I was still quite young so probably didn’t appreciate his stories like I would now. I seem to remember him saying that phrase though. It’s lovely to know that he’s still remembered by others πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

