The multitasking man

The sun is out and it’s another nice spring day again which makes up for the two previous days where it has rained non-stop.  This made going to see le Racing last night a rather damp affair but the spirits were lifted by the 2-0 defeat of Clermont.  This afternoon I’m indulging in a bit of multi-tasking, watching the F A Cup semi-finals on television, blogging, applying for summer school teaching jobs in Spain and the UK and following the England vs West Indies and Australia vs South Africa cricket.  Who said men can’t multitask?

Dress down Saturday

After three entries from Manchester, for my look back at some of the great music which came out in the 1980’s, and two from Australia today it is the turn of a third from down under.  Whilst Nick Cave (and wiki) was active before the 1980’s in Australia it was in that year the band he was in called themselves the Birthday Party and moved to London, so for me that’s when it started.  I really got interested in Nick Cave after the Birthday Party when he added other sounds to his repertoire.  I was given his first album which had a cover of Elvis’ ‘In the Ghetto’ released as a single and, after missing the next album, I fell in love with the following album, ‘Kicking against the Pricks’  which contained some great covers and introduced me to some wonderful songgs I didn’t know.  I came to it via the single, a cover of Johnny Cash’s ‘The Singer’ with a brilliant version of the Roy Orbison song, ‘Running Scared’ on the other side.   I cannot put up links to any of the tracks from these on YouTube as they have been removed.  So, I’ll start with ‘The Ship Song’ from 1990’s album Good Son:

The next one is something of a mix with what was being done with the Birthday Party and the Bad Seeds, ‘Loverman’ from ‘Let Love In’:

One of the better known albums the group did was of a series of murder ballads called ‘Murder Ballads’.  It featured two duets.  The best known one with Kylie Minogue ‘Where the wild roses grow’ even made the charts getting as high as 11 in the UK and 2 in Australia.  Here they are performing it on the former UK chart show, ‘Top of the Pops’:

Also he did a duet with P J Harvey on ‘Henry Lee’:

The last from the nineties is ‘Into my arms’ frmo the 1997 album ‘Boatmans call’:

Now for two more recent tracks from the brilliant Abatoir Blues Album.  These are both such up joyous tracks.  The first is ‘There she goes my Beautiful World’ featuring the wonderful lines, “So if you got a trumpet, get on your feet, brother and blow it.  If you’ve got a field, that don’t yeild, well get up and hoe it,.  I look at you and you look at me and deep in our hearts we know it.  That you weren’t much of a muse and, but then I weren’t much of a poet.’.  The film is recorded at the Brixton Academy, just across the road form where I used to live:

I used to listen to this album whilst walking to work and the previous song, followed by this both tebnded to be around the time I arrived at work, meaning I would get there bouncing in such a joyously happy mood.  ‘Nature Boy’ also featuring wonderful lyrics, ‘ I was walking around the flower show like a leper.  Coming down with some kind of nervous hysteria. When I saw you standing there, green eyes, black hair.  Up against the pink and purple wisteria.  You said, hey, mature boy, are you looking at me with some unrighteous intentino?  My knees went weak, I couldn’t speak, I was having thoughts that were not in my best interests to mention.1  the has a chorus ‘And she moves among the flowers, and she floats upon the smoke, she moves among the shadows, she moves me with just one look.’  Enjoy:

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

