The Singing Detective

In the mid-1980’s I was a big fan of the Dennis Potter TV play ‘The singing detective“(Also here and here.). It was about a man suffering from the skin complaint psoriasis in hospital whilst having hallucinations about his youth and a detective story he is reading. The piece, like other Potter plays, features songs, including a hilarious version of ‘dry bones’ .(The second here above from wikipedia has a run down of all the songs in the show.)  The problems caused by severe psoriasis feature heavily in the show and are said to be heavily autobiographical, at times Dennis Potter had to have pens tied to his hands so he could write and this is something which happened to the main character.  One of the memorable parts of the story involved the main character having moisturiser applied to his body by one of the nurses.  The psoriasis affects his whole body so some sensitive parts have to be moisturised.  Much is made of the things Philip Marlow tries to think about in order not to be aroused.

This whole piece has been as a result of now having psoriasis myself.  Thankfully it is not as severe as that suffered by Philip Marlow in the story, I only need a special shampoo and a treatment applied morning and night.  It might be worth having it if  I was looked after by Nurse Mills……

I’ve got my vision on.

The title is from Jonathon Richmond’s hit Road Runner.  Vision On was also the name of an art programme on TV when I was young.  The host of the programme was Tony Hart.  I was saddened to hear of the death of Tony Hart.  I was one of generations of children interested in art by the way he made creating things so simple on the programme Vision On.  I never had an artistic bone in my body but he made things seem so simple that I tried to do more than I otherwise would.  Here is the second part of a Vision On programme from 1975.  I include this part because it contains the ‘gallery’ where they showed pictures sent in by the people who watched the show, early interactivity?

The music behind the gallery is something that has stayed with me from the programme.  It had been intended as a programme for the deaf and had extensive signing, something which made me more aware that there were others in the World different from me.  Here he is being interviewed, and made to make something artistic out of everyday household items, by Whitley’s finest:

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “The Singing Detective”

  1. Cure For Psoriasis Says:

    Nice post. I might have to share this with a few friends. Thanks. I’ve had psoriasis for about 46 years now. Psoriasis is bad enough but now I have psoriatic arthritis. After four years of methotrexate therapy, I’ve just about given up any hope. I’ve tried everything — nothing seems to really work for me. Why does Nurse Mills look like Brittany Murphy in your picture?

  2. 2010 in review « The Flashing Blade Says:

    […] The Singing Detective January 2009 1 comment 3 […]

Leave a Reply

